The Bone Queen by Alison Croggon

fb_img_1470311669336.jpg

The Bone Queen (The Books of Pellinor 0.5)

by Alison Croggon

Perfect for readers of Tolkien and Garth Nix, The Bone Queen is the highly anticipated prequel to the original Pellinor sequence, and will delight fans of critically acclaimed author Alison Croggon, as well as newcomers to the world of Pellinor.

Cadvan of Lirigon, one of the most powerful Bards of his time, has been exiled from the School of Lirigon for a grievous crime that unleashed the power of the Bone Queen. Isolated and guilt-ridden, he is burdened by memories of his dealings with the Dark. Meanwhile, across Edil-Amarandh, a number of disturbing events suggest that the Bone Queen may not have been successfully banished, as was previously believed. The Light is under threat, but does Cadvan have the strength to face the Bone Queen again?

fb_img_1470311679712.jpg

My Thoughts

 The Bone Queen is a prequel to the Pellinor Quartret and the timeline is some 50 years before the start of the series. For those who have read the series, it gives an insight into beloved characters whose minds and hearts we have never before and probably never will after get a glimpse of. We get to witness firsthand, the folly committed by Cadvan and its consequences. We also see how Cadvan, Dernhil, Nelac and another character, previously unknown (or belatedly) to us, solve the problem. We get to know a bit more about Milana and Dorn, Maerad’s parents and Pellinor which is still standing at the time of these events. The novel was well written, in the author’s usual slightly solemn but poetic style. Since the book was published, I refused to read it because what I wanted was a sequel, another look at the characters I so loved and their lives, after. But despite my reluctance, curiosity got the better of me. And it was a good thing too, for otherwise I never would have known a younger Cadvan or Dernhil.

For those who have not read Alison Croggon’s Pelinor series, but are interested (you really should read it), I would recommend that you start with The Bone Queen, and then go on to The Gift. That’s what I would have done, if I had the choice.

I’d say 4/5 stars

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Bone Queen by Alison Croggon

  1. Well, you’ve convinced me! Not much beats the moment Maerad first meets Cadvan at the beginning of ‘The Gift’ for emotional impact, so — against my normal impulse — I’d be happy in retrospect as a new reader to wait to find out Cadvan’s backstory.

    However, for any series reread I would, as I nearly always tend to, go for an internal chronology order.

    Great review, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s